The One
Get a free story when you subscribe

Karmen Spiljak

Author

Add Cyanide to Taste
A collection of dark tales with culinary twists

This award-winning collection of culinary noir serves up a feast of danger and deceit where each dish is a delectable puzzle waiting to be solved, and every bite could be your last. Fourteen short stories are a must-read for foodies who relish a side of danger with their suspense. All recipes provided are cyanide-free.

Buy the Ebook directly from the author or from any major retailer.

Released on September 30, 2021
What Readers Say...

‘The 14 well-crafted culinary noir stories in Spiljak's debut collection efficiently establish character and mood. Fans of Rob Hart's Take-Out and Other Tales of Culinary Crime will feel sated.’

~ Publishers Weekly

‘Karmen Špiljak is a wonderful, welcome voice to culinary noir with ADD CYANIDE TO TASTE, a collection of delightful, delectable, twisty short stories and a cross-genre foodie delight. The stories feature strong, interesting characters, imaginative situations that range from funny to terrifying to everything in between, excellent plot twists, beautiful writing to please the senses, and great integration of the culinary aspects.’

~ IndieReader

‘For fans of the Twilight Zone, Tales From the Dark Side and Night Gallery, this book will delight.’

~ Laura's Interests

'Add Cyanide to Taste is a deadly delicious read! It is a captivating collection of dark and mysterious short stories that will keep you hooked from beginning to end.'

~ Goodreads Reviewer

‘This is not just a feast for all culinary lovers, it is a feast for all crime and murder mystery lovers. It has the feel of an Agatha Christie cozy murder magic and mayhem with a slightly more fiendish twist.’

~ Zoe's Book Nook

‘From the dark to the funny, there's something to cover most of the emotions in here. A fun pick-up-and put-down (but harder to put down), thought provoking and clever read.’

~ Nicki's Book Blog

‘There was a story that would suit every reader who enjoys a good thriller, some of which had a dash of the supernatural and the cast of realistic characters, a number of whom were not very likeable, were vivid and well rounded. Many of the stories had unexpected cliff hangers, open endings and left you wanting more.’

~ Nicki's Life of Crime

Books in Series